Record Groups


Record groups are a collection of records and can be used in many different contexts.

Applicant groups, for example, might be used to group applicants of a similar type, or ones that have particular skills or qualifications. Similarly, contact groups might be used for contacts that generally provide jobs for the same type of applicants, or they might be used as collections of contacts in the same sector, relative location, etc.

Groups can be created for any record type and can be accessed from a central area. You will also be able to see the groups a record belongs to and create a new group from the record itself.

Adding records to groups can be achieved directly from the record, a search, an additional record group (in effect copying the original group), individually finding a record to add or choose from one of the recently opened records.


When assigning a record to a group, you will be given the choice to assign it to more than one group including favourites.


There are 3 different types of groups you have access to: global groups, personal groups and shared groups.

If you have permission you can create a group as a global group and this will then be available to all users. There are no sharing permissions configurable on this group because it is, in essence, available to everyone. Therefore, any user can add or remove records from these groups, however, they can be hidden using a filter. Global groups will show with a green globe. Global Groups can only be created and edited by users that have permission to create and manage global groups.

Personal groups are simply groups that are created and used by you. If you wish to do so, you can share your groups with other people. However, you will remain the owner and maintain control over permissions that other users have. Personal groups will show with a blue icon.

Shared groups are groups that have been shared with you by another user. You may have permissions to assign and remove records from these groups. Like global groups, these groups can be hidden using a filter. These will show with a purple share icon.

  Additionally, lists of your favourite records will show here also, with a yellow star. The favourites group will act in an identical way to other record groups and you can add records to this list which will set the favourite flag on the associated record. Likewise, any record set as a favourite is automatically added to the favourites record group. Favourite groups cannot be shared.


To share a group with another user, you must be the owner of the group. If you share a record group with a group name that clashes with another user, itris will show a number next to the name in the same way as duplicated filenames in Windows. Permissions to assign and remove records from the group can also be set against each person you are sharing the group with.

When a group is shared with you you will see the permissions you have in the top right of the screen.

When choosing to share one of your groups with another users you can decide what permissions they have.


You can search on Record Groups from either the groups window or selecting within a new search.

Clicking Search from the Groups window will auto-populate the Record Group field within the Record Search form, this will be in the record type you are searching within. For example, if you are searching within a Contact Group called 'Key Contacts', this will open the Contact Search form with the group 'Key Contacts' populated in the Groups field.


When choosing to search within a group you can choose to search within one or more groups. These will only be groups you own or are shared with you.


Additionally, you can choose to exclude any record in that group from a search by selecting the Exclude option and then the groups you wish to exclude. These will only be groups you own or are shared with you.


You can also choose to search for all records that are not in any group. This search will additionally take into account records assigned to groups not visible to you, so, even if they are not owned by you or shared with you, records in those groups will be excluded from the search.